What Does Ecpm Mean and How to Calculate it? - SmartyAds (2024)

Once you start working with web analytics in marketing, advertising or sales, you will certainly wonder what CPM is and what is the difference between CPM and eCPM. You won't miss it, since this is one of the popular tools for evaluating the cost of an advertising campaign. Not only on the Internet but also in print media, radio and television.

It's no secret that the cost-to-income ratio shows the effectiveness of an advertising campaign. That's why marketers analyze CPM values as well as other metrics to formulate the most profitable strategies to align long-term business and budget goals.

Without forecasting costs, businesses cannot launch an effective campaign. When calculating costs and revenues, marketers rely on one of the existing models for estimating the advertising budget.

In this article, we are going to provide an answer to the question “what is eCPM”, then we’ll explain how to calculate it. However, before we start with eCPM, let's take a closer look at CPM first.

What is CPM

CPM stands for Cost Per Millenium, that is, the cost per thousand impressions of a banner, ad, or any other commercial unit. Millenium (or abbreviated Mille) is a Latin word for 1 000. So, every time an advertiser has their ad shown 1 000 times, the cost for those ad views is the CPM.

This payment model came from the traditional media. Print media and television work for the mass popularization of advertisers' brands, so the cost is calculated for a thousand consumers, and not for a single viewer.

Features of the cost-per-mile model:

  • Counts each ad view regardless of whether the user clicks on it or ignores it.
  • Ad clicks are free, only impressions are counted.
  • The advertising will be shown to your target audience which is a specific group of consumers who most likely want to buy your product or service.
  • User activity on the publisher’s sites determines the period of time within which the ad gains 1 000 impressions. The more activity, the faster the ad gains impressions.

When to consider CPM?

There are no bad ad pricing models — there are badly planned campaigns. If a company chooses the wrong strategy, then it shouldn't be surprising that the implementation of the CPM model can lead to rather disappointing results. Still, there are several cases when businesses should consider CPM for their ad campaigns.

What Does Ecpm Mean and How to Calculate it? - SmartyAds (2)

Cost-per-mile is best when you want to announce a launch of a new product or service, popularize your brand, or trademark. Payment for impressions is also suitable when informing customers about discounts, promotions, sales, and other loyalty programs. Typically, these ads require large budgets, because the effectiveness of a campaign is directly dependent on how often ads are shown. You can specify the cost per 1000 ad impressions, and, based on the offered price, ad platform will schedule them.

The CPM model is often used by startups to build brand awareness and strengthen their market position, as well as by popular brands to promote a new product or service. The effectiveness of ad views is defined by the number of clicks (CTR) on the ad.

If the click-through rate is too low, you’re probably not going to achieve a return on your advertising investment. This means you should check the ad settings as well as make sure that you offer something that your target audience would like to purchase.

How to calculate CPM?

The classic formula for calculating the cost of 1 000 impressions includes only two values. The first is the cost of placing an ad, the second is the total number of views of the ad.

Let’s say you're running a display advertising campaign. You get 10 000 impressions and it costs $10. What is your CPM? The CPM formula is quite simple:

CPM = (total ad spend/ total ad impressions) x 1000 impressions.

What Does Ecpm Mean and How to Calculate it? - SmartyAds (3)

1 step: divide total ad spend by total impressions

2 step: multiply it by 1 000.

That's going to give you what your CPM is.

In this case, 10 divided by 10 000 is 0,001. 0,001 times 1 000 equals 1 dollar. So, that would be your total CPM for the ad campaign.

What is eCPM in advertising?

What does eCPM mean? Let’s take a closer look at eCPM definition: eCPM (effective Cost Per Mille or effective cost per thousand impressions) is a publisher's metric that characterizes the revenue of a publishing platform generated from a thousand ad impressions. The higher the eCPM, the higher the publisher's income from ad campaigns. In the next paragraph, we are going to clarify CPM vs. eCPM, and how not to avoid confusion between these two acronyms.

What Does Ecpm Mean and How to Calculate it? - SmartyAds (4)

eCPM vs. CPM

So, what's the difference between CPM and eCPM? Now, when you know the eCPM meaning, you see that eCPM is similar to CPM. Still, CPM calculations take into account a fixed price one advertiser is willing to pay for a thousand impressions, while eCPM defines the ad revenue generated from multiple advertisers who bid on impressions with different CPMs. In addition, eCPM allows publishers to measure the average ad revenue per thousand impressions.

The other difference between CPM and eCPM is that CPM is an ad-buying model, while eCPM is a revenue metric that can be applied to any pricing method. It means that eCPMs can be calculated not just for CPM campaigns, but also for other pricing methods like CPC or CPA.

Is there a difference between eCPM and eRPM?

Nothing but semantics really. eCPM and eRPM (effective Revenue Per Mille) usually refer to the same concept. The only difference is the context they are used for. Traditionally, eCPM is an advertiser's metric as it defines the cost of the campaign, and ePRM is a publisher's metric as it defines the revenue from the advertiser's campaign.

Since this might seem confusing to talk about the same numbers in different languages, publishers try to use the term "eCPM" when they talk to advertisers.

How to calculate eCPM: eCPM Formula

eCPM calculation formula is quite simple:

eCPM = (total ad revenues/ total ad impressions) x 1000 impressions.

What Does Ecpm Mean and How to Calculate it? - SmartyAds (6)

How to calculate an average eCPM for multiple ad campaigns?

Let's say, there were two ad campaigns with different CPMs. The first advertiser paid $10 for 2 000 impressions, and the second one paid $12 for 3 000 impressions. This means the publisher generated total revenue of $22 per 5 000 impressions.

The eCPM would be calculated as follows: ($22/ 5 000) x 1 000 = $4,4

How to calculate eCPM for other ad-buying models?

Let's imagine you want to calculate eCPM for a CPC (cost-per-click) campaign. The first step is to multiply the number of clicks by the cost-per-click rate. This will give you a total revenue. The second step is to divide the number of ad views by 1 000. This will give you the number of every 1 000 impressions.

For example, the ad campaign was shown 1 million times, where the ad server counted 2 000 clicks. The CPC rate for the campaign was $1. To calculate total revenue multiply 2 000 clicks by $1. This will give you $2 000. Now, let's calculate how many times the ad gained 1 000 impressions. For this, divide 1 million ad views by 1 000. This will give you 1 000.

So, let's calculate the eCPM: $2 000/ 1 000 = $2

How to increase your eCPM?

Don’t worry if your eCPM is too low. There are several ways to improve it.

Partner with Ad Mediation Agencies/SSPs

What is ad mediation? It is an SSP (Supply Side Platform) that allows app publishers to manage multiple ad networks, helping simplify the entire monetization process.

By working with an ad mediation platform, there is no need to manually calculate and compare the eCPM of multiple ad networks. With the help of an SSP, you make your inventory available to multiple bidders and the highest bid wins which helps increase the overall revenue, thus boosting your eCPM.

Try Smartyads SSP that offers opportunities for web publishers to maximize advertising revenues directly. SmartyAds SSP provides complete control over ad inventory and full transparency at all levels. The SSP works with different demand sources such as DSPs, Ad Networks, Ad Exchanges, etc. which guarantees that your inventories will be open to more bidders, thus improving your eCPM.

What Does Ecpm Mean and How to Calculate it? - SmartyAds (7)

Try Different Ad Formats

Nowadays, there are a bunch of digital ad formats that companies use to promote their businesses: banners, offer walls, interstitials, videos, etc. Our advice is to regularly check which of them work for you and which don't. If you've noticed that a specific ad unit consistently has a low eCPM, remove it from your ad supply.

However, some formats have historically performed better. For example, try rewarded video ad format. With rewarded video, you give users virtual currency or items in exchange for viewing ads.

Changing the Ad Placement

Play around with different ad placements and see where it works best. Also, try to experiment with the number of ads. The goal is to display ads in the place and moment when the users are the most active. However, it shouldn't hurt user experience and site usability.

Keep up with the Industry eCPM

Keep yourself updated with industry standards. Remember, ad formats evolve - those formats that are in high demand today might not be that performing tomorrow, and vice versa. That's why you should regularly check the average eCPM of different ad formats.

Make Your Site Mobile-Friendly

Did you know that the majority of internet traffic comes from mobile? Try to optimize your website for mobile. For that, you can start with implementing AMP which is a good option to make your website work faster as well as to adapt your ads for mobile screens.

Generate Search Engine Traffic

With good SEO practices, you get organic search users who came to your website to fulfill an informational need. Moreover, by publishing high-quality content you motivate the users to spend more time on your website which allows increasing the eCPM.

Increase your ad viewability rate

Viewability rate is the percentage of ads that your users actually see. Only those ads count as viewable that are at least 50% on screen for one second or longer. For example, your website has eight ad impressions, but only four of them are viewable. This means your viewability rate is 50%. By improving the viewability rate, your website becomes more appealing for advertisers.

Summing Up

eCPM is an ultimate metric for publishers to evaluate and optimize their monetization. eCPM delivers one of the most effective methods to measure the revenue performance and the campaign costs for better forecasting. By calculating eCPM, you can also analyze the effectiveness of placing advertisem*nts as well as compare the performance of various advertising formats.

Seeking a higheCPM? Sign up and start monetizing inventory on SmartyAds SSP!

What Does Ecpm Mean and How to Calculate it? - SmartyAds (2024)

FAQs

What Does Ecpm Mean and How to Calculate it? - SmartyAds? ›

Let's take a closer look at eCPM definition: eCPM (effective Cost Per Mille or effective cost per thousand impressions) is a publisher's metric that characterizes the revenue of a publishing platform generated from a thousand ad impressions. The higher the eCPM, the higher the publisher's income from ad campaigns.

How do you calculate eCPM? ›

How Is eCPM Calculated? eCPM is calculated by dividing the ad revenue by the number of ad impressions and then multiplying the quotient by 1000. Most ad platforms will calculate eCPM automatically for publishers.

What does eCPM mean on Rumble? ›

eCPM, an abbreviation for Effective Cost Per Mille, represents the estimated earnings of an ad per 1,000 impressions.

What is CPM How do you calculate? ›

To calculate your CPM rate, you need to take the total cost of your online advertising divided by the total number of impressions and times 1000. For example, if your ad campaign costs you $500 for 100 000 impressions, your CPM would be $5.

Which of the following is the formula for calculating eCPM choose one? ›

(Total earnings / Total number of impressions) x 1000 = eCPM

In other words, for every 1,000 impressions, you as a publisher generate $3.5 in revenue.

What is the meaning of eCPM? ›

The term eCPM stands for 'effective cost per mille' and is used to describe the ad revenue generated per 1,000 ad impressions. eCPM is used to compare ad monetization earnings across variables, such as ad network, ad unit, region, OS, location, and more.

How do I check my eCPM? ›

Effective cost per thousand impressions. eCPM is an estimate of the revenue you receive for every thousand ad impressions. eCPM is calculated as (Total Earnings / Impressions) x 1000.

How much does a 1000 views pay on Rumble? ›

Rumble's pay per 1000 views varies based on several factors, including the type of content and monetization strategy. While there's no fixed rate, as earnings depend on ads, views, and licensing deals, it often ranges from $2 to $10 per 1,000 views.

What is a good eCPM? ›

For instance, the average eCPM might be based on the location of the ad audience and the specific type of audience. Generally, the average eCPM tends to fall around $2 to $10.

How do I maximize my eCPM? ›

How to Increase eCPM? Top 12 Tips
  1. Increase Monthly Traffic. ...
  2. Partner with Multiple Ad Networks. ...
  3. Work on Your Viewability Score. ...
  4. Try Active View Ad Refresh. ...
  5. Use Different Ad Formats. ...
  6. Work on User Experience. ...
  7. Get Search Engine Traffic. ...
  8. Make Your Website Mobile-Friendly.
Apr 29, 2024

What does $25 CPM mean? ›

CPM stands for “cost per mille.” (Mille means “thousand” in Latin.) If a podcast's CPM is $25, that means you pay $25 for every thousand listens an episode receives.

What is the formula for calculating impressions? ›

However, if you're publishing content you pay to promote, you can apply the formula impressions = cost / (CPM x 1,000) to better understand how many times your content is likely to appear in the places you pay to promote it.

How to calculate eCPM? ›

eCPM = (total earnings/total impressions) x 1,000. To calculate eCPM, divide your total advertising earnings by the total number of impressions your app served. Then multiply by 1,000. The final figure is your eCPM, or the amount of money your app earns per 1,000 ad impressions.

Why is eCPM so low? ›

Common reasons eCPM might be lower than your Min CPM

Sometimes a website pre-fetches a rich media ad for later delivery, but that ad is never fully rendered. For example, the user closes the browser window before the ad is rendered, a JavaScript error occurs, or a user fails to interact with an interactive ad.

What is the difference between CPM and eCPM? ›

What is the Difference Between CPM and eCPM? The main difference between CPM and eCPM is that CPM shows the advertiser's cost of 1000 ad impressions, while eCPM shows how much ad revenue the publisher has generated on average from 1000 ad impressions.

What is a good eCPM rate? ›

For instance, the average eCPM might be based on the location of the ad audience and the specific type of audience. Generally, the average eCPM tends to fall around $2 to $10.

What is the formula for impressions? ›

However, if you're publishing content you pay to promote, you can apply the formula impressions = cost / (CPM x 1,000) to better understand how many times your content is likely to appear in the places you pay to promote it.

How to calculate CPM 1000? ›

To measure CPM, you divide the total cost of the campaign by the number of impressions. The result is then multiplied by 1,000, generating the CPM figure, also known as the CPM rate.

What is the formula for cost per click? ›

Average cost-per-click (avg. CPC) is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks.

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