CPM vs eCPM, How To Calculate It, When To Use Each As A Publisher (2024)

CPM vs eCPM, How To Calculate It, When To Use Each As A Publisher (1)

This post was most recently updated on April 15th, 2024

Maximizing ad revenue is a top priority for publishers, but with so many different metrics to track, it can be easy to get confused. Two of the most commonly used metrics in the industry are CPM and eCPM, but while they may sound similar, they have distinct differences that are important to understand. In this post, we’ll explore the differences between CPM and eCPM, how to calculate each, and how they can be used to measure earnings.

By the end of this post, you’ll better understand these important metrics and how to use them to optimize your ad monetization strategy.

CPM stands for “Cost Per Mile” or cost per 1000 impressions. Advertisers set their desired price per 1000 ads served.

For example, the advertiser budget for a campaign is $20, and the ad receives 2000 impressions. To calculate CPM you take ($20/2000) * 1000 = $10 which means that the advertiser is willing to spend $10 for every thousand impressions.

CPM = (Cost of the campaign/ Number of total impressions) * 1000

CPM vs eCPM, How To Calculate It, When To Use Each As A Publisher (2)

CPM vs eCPM, How To Calculate It, When To Use Each As A Publisher (3)

The CPM rate helps advertisers and companies to spread their products to a larger audience for an effective advertising cost.

It is also a great metric used by advertisers to measure the cost of the campaign, how much the publisher will get paid for every 1,000 impressions, and to evaluate the effectiveness of displaying ads.

CPM is traffic driven, the higher the traffic of the site the better the CPM.

eCPM or “Effective Cost per thousand impressions” is used by publishers to determine the revenue generated from a thousand impressions of an ad campaign and to measure the performance of a publisher’s inventory being sold in various channels.

For example, if an ad campaign generated $100 revenue after receiving 10,000 impressions, the eCPM would be ($100/10,000) * 1000 = $1. This means that the publisher can earn $1 per 1000 impressions.

eCPM = (Effective Cost / Number of total impressions) * 1000

CPM vs eCPM, How To Calculate It, When To Use Each As A Publisher (4)

  • When running a direct-response campaign
  • To compare site performance to averages
  • A universal standard of measurement regarding revenue for the impression sold.
  • Can be used as a critical indicator of the campaign’s performance.
  • Allows publishers to optimize their revenue better.
  • Can apply to any other buying method such as CPA, CPC, etc.
  • Visitors don’t need to click on the ads for the publisher to earn ad revenue.
  • Can be placed anywhere on the site easily.
  • A publisher can determine the expected revenue per impressions.
  • There’s no concern regarding CTR.
  • Allows publishers to generate revenue based on traffic.
  • It’s served for a fixed price and can be a predictable revenue stream.

Example 1: A publisher has two ad units on their website with the same CPM, but one has a higher eCPM due to higher click-through rates (CTR). The publisher can use this data to optimize their website layout to improve CTR and increase eCPM.

Example 2: A publisher has two different ad networks with the same CPM but different eCPM due to varying levels of targeting and relevancy. The publisher can use this information to choose the better-performing network to increase revenue.

Example 3: A publisher wants to optimize their ad stack for maximum revenue, so they use both CPM and eCPM to determine which ad units and networks perform best.

  1. Higher eCPM means higher revenue per impression, so optimizing for eCPM can lead to increased overall revenue.
  2. By focusing on eCPM instead of just CPM, publishers can ensure they deliver more valuable impressions to advertisers and thus receive more revenue per impression.
  3. Tracking eCPM over time can help publishers identify trends in their ad performance and make changes to improve revenue over the long term.
  • Viewability is becoming increasingly important in the advertising industry, so eCPM calculations may need to take viewability metrics into account in the future.
  • The rise of new ad formats like native ads and programmatic audio could impact the way CPM and eCPM are calculated and compared.
  • As privacy regulations like GDPR and CCPA evolve, ad targeting and relevancy may become more challenging, potentially impacting eCPM calculations.
  • Advances in machine learning and AI could lead to more sophisticated eCPM calculations that consider a wider range of data points, allowing publishers to optimize their ad performance better.

CPM vs eCPM, How To Calculate It, When To Use Each As A Publisher (5)

In Summary, CPM is the rate that the advertiser is willing to pay for a 1000 impressions and eCPM is the earning of the publisher per 1000 impressions.

We use CPM to increase visibility, advertise for relevant audiences, and drive high-performing campaigns. eCPM is very helpful for publishers to evaluate and optimize their monetization by monitoring ad revenue generated from campaigns.

It is important that publishers and advertisers know the difference so that publishers can accurately measure the revenue performance and the campaign costs for better forecasting. Are you ready to maximize your ad earnings? Sign up for a Starter account at MonetizeMore today!

FAQ

What is the difference between CPM and eCPM?

CPM is the rate that advertisers pay per 1000 impressions. eCPM is the ad revenue of a publisher per 1000 impressions. Find out more about CPM and eCPM in our blog post.

How do you calculate eCPM?

eCPM = (Estimated Earnings / Number of total impressions) * 1000

What is the difference between CPM and RPM?

CPM is the rate advertisers pay per 1000 impressions for ads. RPM is the ad revenue a publisher earns per 1000 impressions on their website. RPM can also be calculated on an ad, session, or page basis.

CPM vs eCPM, How To Calculate It, When To Use Each As A Publisher (6)

Aleesha Jacob

With over seven years at the forefront of programmatic advertising, Aleesha is a renowned Ad-Tech expert, blending innovative strategies with cutting-edge technology. Her insights have reshaped programmatic advertising, leading to groundbreaking campaigns and 10X ROI increases for publishers and global brands. She believes in setting new standards in dynamic ad targeting and optimization.

CPM vs eCPM, How To Calculate It, When To Use Each As A Publisher (2024)

FAQs

CPM vs eCPM, How To Calculate It, When To Use Each As A Publisher? ›

In Summary, CPM is the rate that the advertiser is willing to pay for a 1000 impressions and eCPM is the earning of the publisher per 1000 impressions. We use CPM to increase visibility, advertise for relevant audiences, and drive high-performing campaigns.

How to calculate CPM and eCPM? ›

The CPM formula is quite simple:
  1. CPM = (total ad spend/ total ad impressions) x 1000 impressions.
  2. 1 step: divide total ad spend by total impressions.
  3. 2 step: multiply it by 1 000.
  4. eCPM = (total ad revenues/ total ad impressions) x 1000 impressions.
  5. Partner with Ad Mediation Agencies/SSPs.
  6. Try Different Ad Formats.
Jul 7, 2021

What is CPM for publishers? ›

Digital publishers need to constantly seek out effective strategies to maximize their revenue and reach a wider audience. Cost per mille (CPM), or cost per thousand, is one of several pricing methods that enables publishers to gauge the success of ad campaigns and optimize their monetization strategies.

What is the formula for comparing CPM? ›

To calculate the CPM, divide the total cost of the campaign by the total number of impressions. Since CPM represents the Cost per Thousand impressions, multiply that quotient by 1,000.

What is the formula for calculating CPM? ›

CPM formula: How to figure out CPM

To measure CPM, you divide the total cost of the campaign by the number of impressions. The result is then multiplied by 1,000, generating the CPM figure, also known as the CPM rate.

What is the average CPM for publishers? ›

A good CPM rate varies depending on the industry, ad format, and location. However, a general benchmark for a good CPM rate is $2-$10. 6) How can publishers increase their CPM rate?

How do I increase CPM in Publishers? ›

You wisely combine ad formats to increase CPM rates:
  1. Push ads (Social Bar) + Native Banner;
  2. Popunder + Social Bar;
  3. Social Bar + Direct Link;
  4. Native Banner + VAST;
  5. Popunder + Native Banners.
Jun 11, 2024

How do you calculate CPM for a magazine? ›

In short, the formula for calculating your CPM is ad cost divided by the result of dividing your impressions by 1000. If you want to skip the CPM formula, you can always use an online CPM calculator to make the calculations for you.

How do you manually calculate CPM? ›

How to calculate cost per thousand. To calculate your CPM rate, you need to take the total cost of your online advertising divided by the total number of impressions and times 1000. For example, if your ad campaign costs you $500 for 100 000 impressions, your CPM would be $5.

What is the CPM calculator? ›

CPM (cost per mille) is a paid advertising option where companies pay a price for every 1,000 impressions an ad receives. An “impression” refers to when someone sees a campaign on social media, the search engines or another marketing platform.

How do you calculate CPM in Excel? ›

To calculate CPM in Excel, create columns for ad spend (Column B) and Impressions (Column C). In Cell D2, enter “=(B2/C2)*1000”. This will calculate your cost per thousand impressions, and can be repeated in subsequent rows for other campaigns.

What is the formula for effective CPM? ›

Effective CPM (or eCPM) is a metric in digital advertising calculated by dividing the total earnings from an ad campaign by the total number of impressions, multiplied by a thousand. This is useful for comparing the effectiveness of campaigns with different pricing models.

What is a good CPM rate? ›

A good cost per mille depends on multiple factors, such as the type of ad networks you use (Google ads, display ads, search ads, Facebook ads, etc) Google search ads average CPM is $38.40, while the google display network ads have an average CPM of $3.12, and Facebook ads have an average CPM of $8.60.

What is the CPM formula reversed? ›

You may also want to understand the reverse formulas: Cost (how much you'll have to pay or the total budget): Cost = CPM * impressions / 1000. for impressions (how many impressions you're going to get, given your budget): Impressions = 1000 * cost / CPM.

What is calculated in CPM? ›

CPM is shorthand for cost per mille or cost per thousand and is a common measure of volume in advertising. This calculator works either way, so it may be used to calculate either the cost, CPM, or the number of impressions. If you'd like to combine it with cost per click, use our CPC and CPM calculator.

How do you calculate max CPM? ›

Quick Guide to Calculating CPM:
  1. Determine the Total Cost of your advertising campaign.
  2. Find out the Number of Impressions (views) your ad received.
  3. Use the formula: CPM = (Total Cost ÷ Number of Impressions) x 1,000.
Mar 19, 2024

How do you calculate media value with CPM? ›

Essentially, you have to multiply the total number of users that a campaign is displayed to (reach plus impressions) by the average cost for every thousand impressions (CPM) combined with total interactions (likes + comments), then multiply this figure by your cost per engagement (CPE).

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