How to calculate Effective CPM (eCPM) - ActiveProspect (2024)

Effective CPM (or eCPM) is a metric in digital advertising calculated by dividing the total earnings from an ad campaign by the total number of impressions, multiplied by a thousand. This is useful for comparing the effectiveness of campaigns with different pricing models.

How to calculate Effective CPM (eCPM) - ActiveProspect (2024)

FAQs

How to calculate Effective CPM (eCPM) - ActiveProspect? ›

Effective CPM (or eCPM) is a metric in digital advertising calculated by dividing the total earnings from an ad campaign by the total number of impressions, multiplied by a thousand. This is useful for comparing the effectiveness of campaigns with different pricing models.

What is effective CPM? ›

Key takeaways. eCPM stands for effective cost per mille. It's a metric used by app publishers to show how much revenue they achieved across all their ad impressions. To calculate eCPM, take your total earnings, divide it by your total number of impressions, and multiply by 1000.

What is the CPM formula? ›

CPM is calculated using this formula: Total campaign spend ÷ Number of impressions × 1,000. CPM varies considerably across industries and platforms, and is also influenced by location and seasonal factors. This means it's best to focus on the value of your impressions, rather than aiming for an “average” CPM.

What is the formula for CPM bidding? ›

To calculate the CPM, divide the total cost of the campaign by the total number of impressions. Since CPM represents the Cost per Thousand impressions, multiply that quotient by 1,000.

What is the cost effective CPM? ›

The price an advertiser pays for 1,000 impressions. Mille means “thousand” in Latin. Because the actual cost per single impression is very, very small (sometimes as little as $.

How do you calculate effective CPM? ›

Effective CPM (or eCPM) is a metric in digital advertising calculated by dividing the total earnings from an ad campaign by the total number of impressions, multiplied by a thousand. This is useful for comparing the effectiveness of campaigns with different pricing models.

What is the difference between eCPM and CPM? ›

What is the Difference Between CPM and eCPM? The main difference between CPM and eCPM is that CPM shows the advertiser's cost of 1000 ad impressions, while eCPM shows how much ad revenue the publisher has generated on average from 1000 ad impressions.

How do you calculate CPM efficiency? ›

In short, the formula for calculating your CPM is ad cost divided by the result of dividing your impressions by 1000. If you want to skip the CPM formula, you can always use an online CPM calculator to make the calculations for you.

How do you manually calculate CPM? ›

How to calculate cost per thousand. To calculate your CPM rate, you need to take the total cost of your online advertising divided by the total number of impressions and times 1000. For example, if your ad campaign costs you $500 for 100 000 impressions, your CPM would be $5.

How do I calculate CPM in Excel? ›

To calculate CPM in Excel, create columns for ad spend (Column B) and Impressions (Column C). In Cell D2, enter “=(B2/C2)*1000”.

What is calculated in CPM? ›

CPM is shorthand for cost per mille or cost per thousand and is a common measure of volume in advertising. This calculator works either way, so it may be used to calculate either the cost, CPM, or the number of impressions. If you'd like to combine it with cost per click, use our CPC and CPM calculator.

How do you calculate max CPM? ›

Quick Guide to Calculating CPM:
  1. Determine the Total Cost of your advertising campaign.
  2. Find out the Number of Impressions (views) your ad received.
  3. Use the formula: CPM = (Total Cost ÷ Number of Impressions) x 1,000.
Mar 19, 2024

How much should my CPM bid be? ›

Guide to programmatic bidding with a CPM cheat sheet
Display/MobileVideo
Contextual$1–4 CPM$11–$15 CPM
Broad Data Targeting (large potential reach)$2–4 CPM$13–$15 CPM
Niche Data Targeting (small potential reach)$3–6 CPM$14–$17 CPM
Retargeting$3–6 CPM$14–$17 CPM
1 more row
Feb 8, 2019

What's a good CPM rate? ›

Recent research shows that the average CPM for Google Display Ads is $3.12, Google Search Ads is $38.40, and Facebook Ads is $8.60. If your CPM is below industry averages, then you can assume that your ads are performing well.

What is the formula for CPM budget? ›

The formula for CPM a is simple one. Since CPM is cost per thousand impressions, you simply divide the cost times 1000 by a the number of impressions. You may also want to understand the reverse formulas: Cost (how much you'll have to pay or the total budget): Cost = CPM * impressions / 1000.

What should be the ideal CPM? ›

A good cost per mille depends on multiple factors, such as the type of ad networks you use (Google ads, display ads, search ads, Facebook ads, etc) Google search ads average CPM is $38.40, while the google display network ads have an average CPM of $3.12, and Facebook ads have an average CPM of $8.60.

What does an efficient CPM mean? ›

CPM is a metric generally used in two ways: it can help companies measure how efficient their advertising is by telling them how much money is paid for 1,000 views of their website ad, and it can represent how much a digital publisher charges for advertising space.

What is a good CPM to have? ›

Recent research shows that the average CPM for Google Display Ads is $3.12, Google Search Ads is $38.40, and Facebook Ads is $8.60. If your CPM is below industry averages, then you can assume that your ads are performing well.

Is it better to have a high CPM or low CPM? ›

CPM stands for cost per thousand impressions, and as you track this important metric, you want it to be as low as it can go in order to ensure good ROI.

What CPM means? ›

However, one of the most common pricing models in digital marketing is CPM. The acronym, CPM, stands for cost per mille, with the Latin and old French word 'mille' meaning a thousand. For this reason, you will often see CPM referred to as cost-per-thousand.

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